Houses, Signs, Planets

We have learn in the school that the Sun is the star and there are 9 planets and several satellites  in our solar system. Here, however, the term ‘planet’ is used in a different way. It is interesting to note and remember that the point of reference is the earth. All the calculations and counting is done for the events happening on our planet, the Earth. And all other celestial bodies have their effects.

In this sense, let’s see which planets are there in Indian Astrology.  Here the Earth, the reference point, is assumed to be stable and all other ‘planets’ moving. There are 12 celestial objects those are termed as ‘planets’.  They are: Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Rahu and Ketu.  Here, you must have rightly noticed that Sun, Moon, Rahu and Ketu are recognised as planets for the sake of understanding.

The Sun is the star, the Moon is earth’s satellite, while Rahu and Ketu are actually two intersecting nodes where the orbin of earth and moon intersect each other.

The  planets, signs or rashis should not be considered in isolation. They are parts of the whole. Any effect is dependent on all the three factors collectively. The reading or prediction is a result of the unique combination of all these factors. Effect of one factor can be enhanced or diminished by the combination of other factors.


The full measure of 360 degrees of the sky is divided into 12 equal parts. These parts of 30 degrees each are 12 signs or Rashis. These are imaginary parts and each part or Rashi is identified with the set of constellations that passes through  that part.

In vedic astrology, the zodiac sign is based on lunar signs. The lunar sing is the one in which moon is placed at the time of birth of the person.  It becomes his / her zodiac sign. It has a great relevance.

There are 12 planets and 12 Rashis. Each Rashi or sign is identified with one planet and it is called the Swami (owner or boss) of the sign.

Signs and there owners.

  1. Aries- Mars
  2. Taurus-Venus
  3. Gemini-Mercury
  4. Cancer- Moon
  5. Leo- Sun
  6. Virgo-Mercury
  7. Libra-Venus
  8. Scorpio-Mars
  9. Sagittarius-Jupiter
  10. Capricorn-Saturn
  11. Aquarius- Saturn
  12. Pisces-Jupiter


The traditional vedic horoscope or the astrological chart is known as Kundali.  It is basically a rectangle divided into 12 parts. Alternatively, it can be in a shape of a circle or a square, but they are divided into 12 parts only.  These parts are called houses or sthaans.

Each sthaan indicates different facets of personality of life of an individual. The broad description of  life events and virtues associated with each sthaan is as follows.

  House no. Associated Life Event Or Virtue
1. Self House Looks,Personality,Nature,Success,Immunity and health.
2. House of Finance Personal income, gains, wealth.
3. House of Courage Courage, Bravery,Skills and Creativity.
4. Mother’s House Love,care,joy and happiness.
5. Children’s House Child birth,Creation, happiness.
6. House of Health Physical,mental and emotional health.
7. Partners House Business and Life partners.
8. House of Death Life span, Struggles,failures,Death.
9. House of Destiny Hope,luck and Goodwill.
10. Career House Achievements, Job,Business and Social Bonds.
11. House of Benefits Benefits of all kinds and its impact on ones life.
12. House of Losses Fear,pain, sorrow, failure,loans,leagal matters.


Get a PJ Consultant. Please connect with us


A Kundali is the traditional Indian system.    The date, time and place of t…

Astrology is a science, and like Astronomy, it studies the stars, planets, constellations…

Interpreting your kundali for now and future People are interested in knowing abou…